Seasons Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Seasons refers to a series of novels written by Terri Blackstock and Beverly LaHaye. The books tell the stories of a group of families living in a cul-de-sac in Cedar Circle. The people of Cedar Circle love one another and it is their joy to help their neighbors persevere through the storms of life, of which there are many.

Get notified when Terri Blackstock releases a new book at

Order of Seasons Series By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seasons Under Heaven (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Showers in Season (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Times and Seasons (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 2001 Description / Buy
4 Season of Blessing (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 2002 Description / Buy
5 Times and Seasons / Season of Blessing (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Seasons Under Heaven / Showers in Season (By: Terri Blackstock, Beverly LaHaye) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The characters of the Seasons series come from varied backgrounds and they must each struggle with a unique challenge in life. For Tory Sullivan, motherhood is not only demanding but it has also become an encumbrance for her career. Tory is an aspiring writer but she doesn’t see how she can possibly make headway with her talent when so much of her time goes into raising her children.

For Cathy Flaherty, the challenges of dating are changing her life in profound ways. She has to rediscover herself and persevere through the highs and lows of the dating game even while fighting to teach her kids the values they will need to survive public school.

With her husband hell bent on undertaking a medical missionary journey and her children having left, Sylvia’s home is starting to feel empty and hollow. She has to find a new path in life.

Brenda Dodd’s child is sick and it doesn’t look like there is anything they can do to fix him. She is living a parent’s nightmare, wondering whether she will watch her child die.

Each book in the Seasons series focuses on a specific family and the problems it is facing. For instance, Seasons Under Heaven, the first novel in the series, explores the struggles of a family whose child falls ill. The family learns to lean on their neighbors as they try to rediscover the joys of life.

Because Terri Blackstock is a Christian writer, Christian themes are littered throughout this novel. The different members of the different families struggle with issues of faith even while trying to figure out what they are supposed to do with life’s hardest choices.

It’s worth noting that the Seasons series is responsible for Terri Blackstock’s fame. The author started her writing career in 1984, publishing romance novels under pseudonyms like Tracy Hughes and Terri Herrington.

By 1995, a fire had been ignited in Terri’s heart for Christian fiction, so she changed gears and started writing for the Christian Market. The author’s big break came when she collaborated on the Seasons series with Beverly LaHaye who is a Christian Activist.

Terri writes very uplifting tales about families who are forced to rediscover their faith when they come across some of life’s immovable obstacles. The author typically writes mystery, suspense, and romance novels, with most of them utilizing Christian themes.

Best Seasons Books

The Seasons series is one of Terri’s more popular collections of novels because it aims to encourage and uplift, with some of the best books in the series including:

Showers in Season: Tory and Barry Sullivan are living a nightmare. Tory, who is pregnant, learns that her child will have Down’s syndrome. The news shocks the family and the solution Barry suggests leaves Tory somewhat disgusted with him.

The Sullivans cannot hope to survive this storm, not without the wisdom and strength that their faith brings to the table, not to mention the love of their close-knit community. Tory watches as the women of Cedar Circle rally around her, comforting her through the heartaches and the struggles. She learns an important lesson about friendship and faith.

The second novel in the Seasons Series finds Tory and Barry at loggerheads. The couple learns about their Down’s syndrome pregnancy. Barry decides that an abortion is the best course of action.

Season of Blessing: Sylvia Bryan does such a great job of downplaying her weakness and fatigue that she doesn’t know how to respond when a malignant lump is discovered in her breast. The idea that God would allow cancer to come into the picture just as their missionary undertaking was about start perturbs the couple.

Sylvia begins treatment for her condition while her neighbors pull together to try and support Sylvia even as they struggle with their own problems. Tory and Barry have their Down Syndrome Child. Brenda doesn’t know what to do with the unbelief of her husband. It will take a miracle for the Cedar Circle families to find their joy again.

Other Book Series You May Like

“The Sun Coast Chronicles” by Terri Blackstock is another beloved series. These are clean and light thriller novels that explore the lives of different individuals who are put in unique and somewhat precarious positions that test their ability to stick to their Christian values, this in a world where the dark nature of mankind seems to reign.

Fans also enjoy “The Second Chances” Series by Terri Blackstock. These books explore the lives of men and women who are offered opportunities to find happiness once more in a world that once tore them away from the very things they thought they needed to acquire fulfillment.

What Is The Next Book in The Seasons Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Seasons Series. The newest book is Seasons Under Heaven / Showers in Season and was released on December, 27th 2015.

1 thought on “Seasons”

  1. I feel like I relate to all the characters in these books, and it reminds me of “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” books or even that movie “Now and Then”. You get to know each of the characters and I definitely have my favorite (I’m definitely a Tory, or maybe a Sylvia?), but you feel for all the characters and it is a tearjerker at times! Heartwarming stories that you won’t regret reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *