Secret Histories Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Secret Histories is a set of fantasy/sci-fi novels written by Simon R. Green. At first, the book series was intended to be a trilogy, but due to popularity and demand for more books, the author decided to continue writing more installments. The books focus on the adventures of Edwin Drood, also known as Shaman Bond. He is part of the Drood an ancient family whose responsibilities is to watch over the world and protect it from certain dangers including magical and supernatural ones.

Get notified when Simon R. Green releases a new book at

Order of Secret Histories Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Man With the Golden Torc ( By: Simon R. Green) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Daemons Are Forever ( By: Simon R. Green) 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Spy Who Haunted Me ( By: Simon R. Green) 2009 Description / Buy
4 From Hell with Love ( By: Simon R. Green) 2010 Description / Buy
5 For Heaven's Eyes Only ( By: Simon R. Green) 2011 Description / Buy
6 Live and Let Drood ( By: Simon R. Green) 2012 Description / Buy
7 Casino Infernale ( By: Simon R. Green) 2013 Description / Buy
8 Property of a Lady Faire ( By: Simon R. Green) 2014 Description / Buy
9 From a Drood to a Kill ( By: Simon R. Green) 2015 Description / Buy
10 Dr. DOA (By: Simon R. Green) 2016 Description / Buy
11 Moonbreaker ( By: Simon R. Green) 2017 Description / Buy
12 Night Fall ( By: Simon R. Green) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Each Drood is given a golden torc which acts as a living armor on the bearer giving them unlimited speed, power, stealth, and durability. The torc also enables the wearer Sight- the ability to see through scientific and magical disguises, translate any language and prevent the user from appearing in any form of videotaping, and photography.

Edwin, commonly referred as Eddie is a field agent working for the Droods in London area. During his childhood, Eddie came to hate the family due to their strict nature and lack of freedom. Green began the publication of Simon Histories series in 2007 when The Man with the Golden Torc was published.


These are two best books in Secret Histories by Simon R. Green, The Man with the Golden Torc (2007) and Casino Infernale (2013).

The Man with the Golden Torc: The first book of Secret Histories introduces Shaman Bond, also known as Edwin Drood, one of the famous undercover agents around the globe. Eddie does not work for any government but rather for his family of former druids. They are responsible for protecting the world from demons, vampires and other evils forces of darkness. Eddie soon finds himself at loggerheads with his family after a routines mission ends with him witnessing the suicide of the world’s most knowledgeable occultist. He is in so much trouble such that he may be forced to go rogue and seek the assistance of the Drood family most feared adversaries.

Simon Green first series installment is fun and quite engaging. The whole story mainly focuses on one long chase, but the main character leads the readers through such an assorted and exciting London underground. Eddie himself is a likable and charismatic main character, and apart from the main character, the secondary characters as well are well woven and colorful as well.

Casino Infernale: The 7th novel in Secret Histories series by Simon R. Green. Eddie also was known as Shaman Bond has found the love of his life, Molly Metcalf- who happens to be a very powerful witch. The two are attending Casino Infernale; an event held once a year held by Shadow Bank, the financiers of the world supernatural crime. They only have one mission, to rig the game and take down the Shadow Bank. However, at Casino Infernale, everything is not as it seems the winners take all but the losers have to give up their souls.

The characters in Casino Infernale are well woven. Eddie has gone rogue, given up his responsibilities towards the Drood Family and now works for the Department of the Uncanny headed by his grandfather, who was first thought to be dead. Then there is Molly Metcalf, the woman whom Eddie has come to love. She is a witch who has had a traumatic past. The plot is fast-paced, and the characters are engaging. The world building, in this case, is excellent, for instance, the idea of a casino where players can gamble both cash and also lives and souls.

Secret Histories bears some similarities to Nightside (a series by Simon R. Green). However, there is a slight difference between the series. For instance, Nightside features a detective lead character while the latter features a secret agent as the protagonist. The books titles in the series are all parodies of James Bond novels or short story titles.


If you like Secret Histories series by Simon R. Green, then you will also find these two book series ideal for you. “Simon Canderous”, a series of urban fantasy novels written by Anton Strout.

You will also find “Felix Gomez” series by Mario Acevedo a great match. The series features Felix Gomez, an Iraq war veteran who was turned a vampire while on a mission in Iraq. Now retired, he works as a private investigator and helps in solving crime for his clients.

What Is The Next Book in The Secret Histories Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Secret Histories Series. The newest book is Night Fall and was released on June, 12th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *