Tales of the Dark Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Tales of the Dark series by Lincoln Child are anthology books that Child edited for St. Martin’s Press. In the different books, big name authors are published, and it does not matter if the authors featured have made a career of writing horror stories. In some way, the stories are horror. The stories are not very new, some are from the 1800s, or the 1900s. They are collections of stories that feature an array of different authors for some readers to get into. They display some of Lincoln Child’s favorite authors, as well. Not to mention his love of different horror anthologies with stories from some of the best authors of all time. Readers may find that they have a new author (or authors) to get into, even though the books have gone out of print. This is also a great place to find some of these authors together in one place, one book.

Get notified when Lincoln Child releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Tales of the Dark Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales of the Dark (By: Lincoln Child, Bram Stoker, Charlotte Perkins Gilman) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Tales of the Dark 3 ( By: Lincoln Child) 1988 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first book in the series has writers that are associated with horror, but also writers that were not. Like Dickens, Kipling, and Robert Louis Stevenson (who were not known for doing horror stories). It also features stories by Stoker, Edgar Allan Poe, and Fanu. He got a job in 1979 as an editorial assistant, working at St. Martin’s Press. By the year 1984, he became full editor. It was here that he would work on the editing of hundreds of books; most of which were English and American fiction stories. He helped form the company’s mass-market horror section, and later left. It is here, while with St. Martin’s Press that he worked on the Tales of the Dark books. He collected other collections besides these. These include Dark Company and Dark Banquet. Lincoln Child was able to work with horror here, a genre that he enjoys reading and talking about. He was able to collect stories that he enjoys and get paid for it. He also likes buying and reading out of print horror anthologies with big authors in them. This is where Child’s career in writing got started, but it would take until 1995 before he and his writing partner Douglas Preston would be published.


This next section is for those readers looking to get into the Tales of the Dark series edited by Lincoln Child. It will go over the books Tales of the Dark, Tales of the Dark 2, and Tales of the Dark 3.

Tales of the Dark: The first book in the Tales of the Dark anthology series. It features many horror stories from the legends of the fiction writing field. Both in and out of the horror genre. There are tales from Edgar Allan Poe, Bram Stoker, Fanu, Robert Louis Stevenson, Charles Dickens, and Rudyard Kipling.

Tales of the Dark 2: The second book in the Tales of the Dark anthology series. This, like the other books in the series, features horror stories by the legends in the fiction writing field. This book features stories by Arthur Machen, Algernon Blackwood, Arthur Conan Doyle, Oliver Onions, H.G. Wells, M.R. James, E. Nesbit, Wilkie Collins, and Ambrose Bierce.

Tales of the Dark 3: The third book in the Tales of the Dark anthology series. This, like the other books in the series, features horror stories by the legends in the fiction writing field. This installment starts with an essay that was written by Lincoln Child. It features stories from E.F. Benson, M.R. James, Walter de la Mare, H. Russell Wakefield, H.P. Lovecraft, Ramsey Campbell, Robert Bloch, Sealia Bishop, and J.B. Priestley. There is a story that Stealia Bishop and H. P. Lovecraft wrote together (that is in this set under the name Zealia Brown Reed Bishop). The book then finishes with some more words from Child.


The “Agent Pendergast” series by Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston. Full name is Aloysius Xingu Leng Pendergast, and he first appears in Child and Preston’s series as a supporting character in the first two novels before becoming the lead. He is a special agent with the FBI.

Gideon Crew” stars in this series as an ex-professional thief who gets a Ph.D. He later works as a scientist at Los Alamos, New Mexico. He only has a few years left to live and was recruited by a very top secret organization.

What Is The Next Book in The Tales Of The Dark Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tales Of The Dark Series. The newest book is Tales of the Dark 3 and was released on January, 1st 1988.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *