The Realm of the Elderlings Books

The Realm of the Elderlings otherwise known as the world of Eda and El is the alternate world and setting for most of Robin Hobb’s series of novels. The realm includes the six duchies of Clerres, Jamaillia, Chalced, the Rain Wilds, the Cursed Shores, and the Mountain Kingdom. The name of The Realm of the Elderlings is common to the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy, the Rain Wild Chronicles, the Tawny Man trilogy, the Liveship Traders trilogy, and the Farseeer trilogy.

Order of The Farseer Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Assassin's Apprentice 1995 Description / Buy
2 Royal Assassin 1996 Description / Buy
3 Assassin's Quest 1997 Description / Buy
4 Words Like Coins (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Tawny Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fool's Errand 2001 Description / Buy
2 Golden Fool 2002 Description / Buy
3 Fool's Fate 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Fitz and The Fool Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fool's Assassin 2014 Description / Buy
2 Fool's Quest 2015 Description / Buy
3 Assassin's Fate 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Realm of the Elderlings follows the adventures of the FitzChivalry Farseer, an assassin of the Farseer lineage who practices his craft in the service of the Six Duchies kingdom. The series of novels also follow the life and times of Prince Verity, one of FittzChivalry’s great uncles. Prince Verity is on a quest to save the kingdoms from a band of pirates from the OutIslands that style themselves as the Red Ship raiders. The antagonists have been attacking the kingdoms successfully by employing the forging strategy, which turns their opponents emotionless and soulless.

“Assassin’s Apprentice” the first novel of the series tells the story of Young Fitz born out of wedlock to Prince Chivalry. The child is raised by a gruff stableman in his father’s employ, who keeps his identity a secret. Even as everyone in the royal household deem him an outcast, the aptly named King Shrewd sees something in him something, and enrolls the young man in assassin training. Fitz has the advantage of the magic skill and the darker understanding borne out of rejection from his family, and living with the royal hounds in the stables.

Soon barbarous raiders are killing and maiming the coastal lands and Fitz knows it is only a matter of time before his skills would be needed. He may have to face up to a soul-shattering mission even as many in the kingdom see him as one of the kingdom’s greatest threats. It an excellent introduction to the Realm of the Elderlings series of novels that went on to become Robin Hobb’s most popular series.


Assassin’s Apprentice: The first novel is definitely one of the most loved in the series. What makes this novel so great is the building, development, and breathing of life into personal relationships that Hobb does so well in the introductory novel. The friendship between the Fool and Fitz, which is critical to the series, is first given expression in the novel. With tension and much of the plot driven by the constraints and rigid social structure placed upon Fitz, the novel makes for some good reading.

Assassin’s Fate: he last novel of the series and last of the Order of Fitz and The Fool Trilogy is one of its most incredible. The book is full of Dragons, Liveships, White Prophets, Fools, and Farseers. Most of what Robb Hobb ever wrote about in the series is realized in the novel. The novel tears asunder the world created to make certain that no kingdom of the six will ever rise again from the ashes. However, even though “Assassins Fate” is a novel of endings though there are many beginnings as new characters are introduced. However, this is a great ending to the series as the story lines of most of the characters come to a logical conclusion.

Fool’s Quest: The second novel of The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy is another beloved title in the series. The novel ramps up the intrigue and tension as Fitz’s life and heart continue to be the favorite abode of disaster. After he nearly kills the Fool his best friend, he arrives home to find his daughter kidnapped by the same people that had been looking to kill his friend. As a deadly ex royal assassin with some of the best training to boot, havoc against his enemies is a guarantee from a man with nothing to lose.


Most fans of The Realm of the Elderlings series also love “The Night Angel Trilogy” by Brent Weeks. These are fantasy fiction novels following the adventures of Azoth the guild rat, as he apprentices to become one of the best assassins with magical talents.

The Realm of the Elderlings fans also love the “Pendagron Cycle” series of novels by Stephen R. Lawhead. The novels are historical fantasies that are innovative twists on the Arthurian legends, with a different knight taking the lead in each novel in the series.

What Is The Next Book in The Farseer Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Farseer Series. The newest book is Words Like Coins and was released on May, 10th 2012.