Alvirah and Willy Books

Alvirah and Willy series refers to a book series penned by American woman of letters Mary Higgins Clark. Clark, who is an octogenarian, was born in December 1927 and her birthplace is The Bronx upon New York City. Clark, whose wok ranges from book series to non-fiction work, has co-authored work with her own daughter Carol Higgins Clark and Alafair S. Burke. Clark’s niche is notably crime, thriller, and mystery genres. The Alvirah and Willy series features a husband and wife duo, the aforementioned Alvirah and Willy Meehan, who appear in several Mary Higgins Clark novels, initially as support characters, before transitioning into their own standalone series of novels due to the popularity of the married team. The pair tend to be involved in suspenseful and thrilling adventures where they need to find out whodunnit, and their stories also tend to revolve around Christmas, giving the Alvirah and Willy series a very special feel unlike many other series of books.

Order of Alvirah and Willy Series

# Read Title Published
1 Weep No More, My Lady 1987
2 The Lottery Winner 1994
3 All Through the Night 1998
4 Deck the Halls - Movie Tie-In 2001
5 The Christmas Thief 2004
6 Santa Cruise 2006
7 Dashing Through the Snow 2008
8 I'll Walk Alone 2011
9 The Lost Years 2012
10 As Time Goes By 2016
11 All By Myself, Alone 2017
Print: Print PDF

Alvirah Meehan first appear in the novel Weep No More, My Lady, in which a woman discovers a whole host of terrible secrets when she investigates the death of her sister who died after falling from her penthouse balcony. However, Alvirah is not the key players in this story, rather it is a woman named Elizabeth Lange. Weep No More, My Lady was turned into a TV movie starring Kristin Scott Thomas in the lead role. Weep No More, My Lady was published in 1987.

Alvirah and Willy Meehan came into their own in the 1994 collection of short stories The Lottery Winner. The stories in The Lottery Winner are intertwined stories which deals with crimes and also investigative work, and Alvirah, now partnered with her husband, Willy, go about solving crimes. Their adventures are also helped by the fact the Alvirah was able to give up her job as a cleaning lady thanks in no small part to her amazing multi-million dollar lottery win. But this couple are not your regular pair of sleuths, and they do things in their own special way.

Alvirah and Willy returned in All Through the Night, which was published in 1998. When a baby is abandoned on the doorstep of a church in Manhattan, it coincides with a robber making off with a valuable chalice which has a beautiful diamond on top of it. While the thief is trying to make their escape, he also makes off with the baby, which had been left in its pushchair and vanishes into the night. Fast-forward seven years, and the mother who initially abandoned her child returns to the church. However, this time she finds our heroes, Alrivah and Willy, helping out with the church’s Christmas pageant. Unable to resist a mystery, Alvirah and Willy vow to help with woman work out just what happened to her child, as well as the chalice, all while attempting to find out just who is behind the scam to shut down the church’s homeless shelter. All in a day’s work for our lottery winner and her husband, of course.

The next book in the Alvirah and Willy series is Deck the Halls, which was published in 2000, and it is also the first book which Mary Higgins Clark co-authored with her daughter, Carol Higgins Clark. In Deck the Halls, two literary worlds collide, as Regan Reilly, the creation of Carol Higgins Clark, encounters Alvirah and Willy Meehan while at the dentist. But this is only the beginning of the story, as just before Christmas, Regan’s father and his driver are kidnapped, while Regan’s mother is recovering from a broken leg in hospital. The kidnappers as for a ransom of one million dollars. Wanting to get his father and his driver back before it’s too late, Regan goes to Alvirah for help. Although the kidnappers are not the smartest tools in the box, they are pose a real threat to Regan’s loved ones. But can Regan’s Christmas be saved? It would seem only with Alvirah and Willy’s help.

In 2004, the next book in the Willy and Alvirah series was published, which was The Christmas Thief, which was also co-authored by Carol Higgins Clark. This was then followed in 2006 by Santa Cruise, and then Dashing Through the Snow in 2008. In 2011, Alvirah and Willy reappear, although it is not in a Christmas thriller, it is instead as supporting characters in I’ll Walk Alone, as the help a single mother track down who kidnapped her child.

In 2012, Alvirah and Willy turned up again as supporting characters in the novel The Lost Years, in which a biblical scholar turns up dead after finding a letter supposedly written by Jesus Christ himself. The only witness to the crime is the man’s wife, who is found hiding in a closet while holding what police believe is the weapon the murderer used to commit the crime. Unfortunately, the woman also suffers from Alzheimer’s. The couple’s daughter must get to the bottom of the case, and Alvirah and Willy are there to lend a helping hand.

Generally, there are eleven books in the Alvirah and Willy series. The first book in that series has almost seventy editions. The first edition of the first book was originally published in 1987, titled Weep No More, My Lady; and this book is shelved under the mystery, fiction, suspense, and thriller genres.

Elizabeth Lange is the featured protagonist in the first book in Alvirah and Willy series; however, protagonists Alvirah Meehan and Willy are featured later on in the series. Elizabeth Lange has an older sister called Leila LaSalla, a renowned actress. Both siblings have had a troubled childhood and LaSalla had an instrumental role in rearing Lange.

The turning point is the gory death of Leila LaSalla after someone throws her from a balcony. This prompts Lange to travel to Pebble Beach upon California at a location called Cypress Point Spa whereby she learns that motives for the murder abound and many persons of interest exist. LaSalla’s one-time lover, a well-off contractor, is fingered for the murder. The unfolding story as Lange testifies against a man that, after burying the hatchet, she later on falls in love with leaves the reader second-guessing.

Alvirah and Willy Awards

Mary Higgins Clark has not only won and been nominated for various literary prizes, but also has an award named after her. In 2000, Clark bagged the Edgar Grand Master Award. In 1980, the author clinched the Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere thanks to her 1977 book entitled A Stranger Is Watching. In 1994, Clark bagged the Anthony Award, in the Best Anthology and Short Story Collection category, thanks to her collection entitled Malice Domestic 2.

In 1997, Clark clinched the Horatio Alger Award; other awards include Graymoor Award (in 1999), Bronx Legend Award (won in 1999), and being the 2003 recipient of Christopher Life Achievement Award.

Alvirah and Willy Books into Movies and TV Shows

Some of the works of Mary Higgins Clark have been made into both movies and TV shows. Clark’s 1977 book entitled A Stranger Is Watching was made into a similarly titled 1982 film, starring Rip Torn who plays Artie Taggart’s role.
There is a film adaptation of Clark’s 1975 book titled Where Are the Children?; also titled Where Are the Children?, and produced in 1986, the film starred Jill Clayburgh who appears as Nancy Holder Eldridge. Clark’s 1992 book named All Around the Town was made into a similarly titled 2002 TV movie, starring Kim Schraner who appears as Laurie Kinmount. The 2002 TV movie named Lucky Day is based on Clark’s 1992 book Lucky Day; the starring actress in the film is Amanda Donohoe, who acts as Nora Barkin.

There are several TV shows based on Clark’s literary work. The 1992 film named Double Vision is based on Clark’s 1992 book Double Vision, and starring Kim Cattral who appears as Caroline and Lisa. Clark’s 1994 book named Remembering Me has a similarly titled TV show, starring Kelly McGills as Menly Nichols.

Clark’s 1991 book called Let Me Call You Sweetheart has a TV film adaptation, starring Meredith Baxter as D.A. Kerry McGrath. There is a 2001 film named Loves Music, Loves to Dance, (based on Clark’s 1991 book), and starring Patsy Kensit who plays Darcy Scott’s role. Clark’s 1997 book Pretend You Don’t See Her was made into a 2002 TV film, starring Emma Samms who acts as Lacey Farrell. Her 1999 boo We’ll Meet Again was made a film, starring Laura Leighton and Brandy Ledford who appear as Fran Silman and Molly Lasch, respectively.

There is a 2004 film called I’ll Be Seeing Young based on Clark’s 1993 book, and starring Alison Eastwood who plays Patricia Collins’ role. Another short story by Clark was made into a 2004 TV movie called Try to Remember, starring Gabrielle Anwar who acts as Lisa Monroe.

Best Alvirah and Willy Books

These are the best books in Alvirah and Willy series.

Weep No More, My Lady: The first is Weep No More, My Lady.

The Lottery Winner: The second book in Alvirah and Willy series, this 1994 book comprises of six stories wherein Alvirah unravels mysteries and cheats death by a whisker before he is rescued.

All Through the Night: A careerist mother dumped her infant at a church and the baby was stolen by mistake during a church robbery, seven previously. Now the mother is back, seeking her child, prompting Alvirah and Willy to start sleuthing to unravel the mystery of the long missing baby.

Other Books Series You May Like

Readers who liked Alvirah and Willy series also liked these. First, “Regan Reilly Mysteries” series, penned by Carol Higgins Clark that features a Los Angeles-based private eye named Regan Reilly. Secondly, “KEY News” series, authored by Mark Jane Clark. It revolves around a New York City-based anchorwoman called Eliza Barke whose fame as a media personality rebounds on her, including the abduction of her young daughter. Third, “Sunrise Suspense Society” series, penned by Mary Jane Clark. Eliza Barke is sleuthing the sudden, unexpected murder of the co-star of a TV program, a murder mystery wherein there are many persons of interest.

Alvirah and Willy FAQs

Q: Who writes the Alvirah and Willy series of books?

A: The Alvirah and Willy series of books are written by Mary Higgins Clark, and several of the books in the series were co-authored by her daughter, Carol Higgins Clark.

Q: What is the first book in the Alvirah and Willy series of books?

A: The first book in the Alvirah and Willy series of books is Weep No More, My Lady, in which Alvirah appears as a supporting character, which was published in 1987. The first book with Alvirah and Willy as main character is The Lottery Winner, which is a collection of short stories, published in 1994. The first full-length Alvirah and Willy adventure is All Through the Night, which was published in 1998.