Legends Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Legends is a series of mythological novels by the author Anthony Horowitz. Horowitz is renowned for writing some of the best children’s thrillers and fantasy fiction novels, alongside authors such as Mark A. Copper and Enid Blyton. The first novel in the series was “Battles and Quests” that the author first published in 2010.

Get notified when Anthony Horowitz releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Legends Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Battles and Quests ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Beasts and Monsters (Short Story) ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Death and the Underworld ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Heroes and Villains ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Tricks and Transformations ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Wrath of the Gods ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Legends series of novel is a combination of bite sized legends and myths from around the world that the author retells in a captivating and thrilling modern voice. He writes of the underworld, of monstrous beasts, fearless heroes, and of Greek and Roman legends such as the multiple headed Hydra, and the snake haired Medusa among many others. Coming with black and white graphics, the series brings to life the legends and myths that we have grown up on during our childhood.

“Battles and Quests”, the first novel in the series is a short delightful read that would make for an awesome gift for the young adult or even an adult who still loves the old legends and myths. Anthony Horowitz does a good job as he flawlessly entertains, entices, and surprises the reader, writing in his magical language that sends the reader back to their childhood. He retells the stories that continue to awe the most adult of us and stand the test of time. He tells of the Ugly Wife of Sir Gawain of the Round Table, the Incas’ story of the Sun, Romulus and Remus, the Bell of Peking, and the Minotaur.

With his use of conversational language, Horowitz is adept at sharing some of the most mundane of facts like one sharing a secret that makes for some intriguing storytelling. Similarly, he tears down the nonsensical, and wackier legends that are plain farfetched that will leave the reader guffawing, giggling, and snickering with him.


Battles and Quests: The first novel is definitely one of the best books in the Legends series of novels. The series of stories were written by a 28-year-old Horowitz, and initially published as a single title, before they were broken down and published as different stories in a collection. The novels offer some of the most interesting of legends and myths, with timeless classics such as Romulus and Remus and the Minotaur among the classics excellently retold. “Battles and Quest” is one novel you would definitely want to start with.

Beasts and Monsters: This is another popular retelling of popular legends and myths from around the world. Horowitz takes the readers along on a journey in search of famed monsters such as The Gorgon’s Head, The Washer at the Ford, The Dragon and Saint George, The Incredible Spotted Egg, and The Riddle of the Sphinx. Just like with his other novels, the author employs the tongue-in-cheek narrative technique to make for an easy and fun read.

The novel would be perfect for your teenagers needing something to read on their holiday or even some adults needing some welcome distraction from the more serious type of books that they normally read. The author even goes as far as providing a list of monsters at the end of the book for any reader that may not have had the chance to read the legends and myths as a child, or just one that needs a refresher.

Heroes and Villains The second novel in the series is about the battle between good and evil around the world retold in that familiar contemporary voice of Anthony Horowitz. Illustrated with graphic bold artwork, the novels have the signature suspense, humor, and action we have come to associate with the author. The battle for supremacy has been fought with cunning and wit or just plain brawn with epic characters populating both sides of the divide. Regardless of whether they fight with sheer determination, skill, or speed the characters in stories like Grendel of Beowolf, Polyphemus the Cyclops, Theseus, and Hercules fight to the death.


Many fans of the Legends series of novels will also love the “Artemis Fowl” series of novels by Eoin Colfer. The novels follow the adventures of criminal mastermind, millionaire, and genius who kidnaps a fairy, and proceeds to have a variety of magical adventures.

Fans of the Legends series will also love the “Young Bond” series of novels by Charlie Higson. These series of novels follow the adventures of the young James Bond before he became agent 007 of the famous James Bond franchise.

What Is The Next Book in The Legends Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Legends Series. The newest book is Tricks and Transformations and was released on June, 7th 2012.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *